Knitting Concert – Sunday 9th October at 6pm

Copland – Sonata for Violin and Piano (1943)

Richard Strauss – Sonata for Violin and Piano, Op.18

Madeleine Mitchell (violin)

Robert Bridge (piano)

On October 9th we’ll be performing two starkly contrasting sonatas: Aaron Copland’s Sonata from 1943 is at times challenging and punchy, at times reassuringly gentle and folkloric, leaving us with an haunting sense of space and calm long after the music has died away; Richard Strauss’ Violin Sonata from 1888, on the other hand, is opulent, lush, unashamedly late Romantic, full of gorgeous and soaring melodies with some of the most athletic violin and piano writing in the sonata repertoire.

As ever the concert is free with free drinks included and you are welcome to bring something quiet to do whilst you listen if you want to. The retiring collection will be for the performers’ fund.